Why Would Someone Buy A Netbook?

Posted on September 23, 2011

0


For the longest time I have tried to wrap my head around why someone actually go out and purchase a netbook. What is it they want it to do?

Web browsing? the screen sucks and viewing/navigating web pages are more of a hassle than anything else. Yes it can run Flash, but with amount of browser crashes I have had due to Flash I haven’t been really upset to let it go.

Battery life? The iPad will get more battery life than any netbook out. Plus with most new laptops getting around 5 to 6 hours battery life, buying a netbook that may get 7 is not worth the downside.

Specs? Its a netbook, buy a laptop if you want specs.

Price? Heres a dell laptop for $450 with an i3 which I guarantee will kill any atom processor.

Size? Yeah I guess, but I don’t see this as a huge benefit when you look at the fact my iPhone can browse web pages better than any netbook and its definitely smaller.

The only real positive I can find for the thing is that it would be nice to type a document on. Other than that, I see no real use for them. I would much rather spend the money on a laptop or if I need a small light weight device then I’d get a tablet.

Posted in: Computing