The Good, The Bad, And The Ugly: Diablo 3 Review

Posted on May 31, 2012

0


20120531-163429.jpg

After playing Diablo 3 ever since launch, I’ve come to the conclusion that it was well worth the wait. While I am assuming all of you have already read reviews at other sites, I figured I would just list a couple thing that I find to be the best parts about the game and some of the complaints I have come across.

The Good

1. Gameplay- I was never a huge Diablo 1 or 2 fan. While I did play both of them, I never really played them that much after I beat the single-player. This isn’t so with Diablo 3. I have already played well over the amount of hours I did in say Diablo 2. The thing that stands put most is the pace of the game. This Diablo feels more quicker paced and the abilities you get at high levels can make you feel like a god killing a screen full of demons. However you won’t be able to get used to that for long. The difficulty quickly ramps up after you beat normal. Hell mode to inferno mode can seem almost impossible to some, which makes for a nice challenge since there is no PvP until who knows when Blizzard actually finishes it.

2. The Story- While the story was predictable at times, it was never disappointing. The game ties well with the previous titles and the numerous lore books scattered around sanctuary make it all the more interesting. I won’t give any spoilers away, but I’ll just say that you will enjoy it.

3. Co-op Play- this is where the game is really worth the money. Playing in 4 player groups battling through inferno or hardcore will be a challenge you can share with your friends. You guys can team up to get achievements or to get more chances for better gear if you guys trade loot.

The Bad

1. No PvP or Real Money Auction House- while the RM auction house was supposed to be released on the 22nd, it has subsequently been pushed back until the middle of June at last check. PvP is nowhere to be found and the only real time frame is towards the end of the year. So who knows really how long we will be waiting for these features.

2. Story Ending- this may seem like a weird point to make, but while I enjoyed the story, the ending was lacking. There was no closure, no tying of loose ends. It just ends. Like Mass Effect 3 just ends.

3. Error 37- anyone on launch day and subsequent server downtimes since have seen this horrible message. If the servers are down, you can’t play single player at all. It sucks to be this limited, especially for those who may a slow Internet connection. Diablo 3 is the only game I have ever lagged out of single player. Is that an achievement?

Overall as I’ve said, it’s worth the money bad problems aside. I’ll still play it, and play it for months to come, but everyone should be aware of what they are getting into. See you in Sanctuary.

Posted in: RPG, Video Games